Books to Cozy up with This Fall

Books to Cozy up with This Fall

I’ve always been one to enjoy a good read, but something about the fall weather has me even more likely to be found cuddled up on the porch with a coffee (ft. some Baileys maybe?) and a good book. I’m pretty sure it was the Twilight Saga (guilty as charged … ) that propelled me into the magical world of fiction back in the day and i’ve been lost in it ever since. Something especially about the strange state of the world lately has made cozying up and getting lost in someone else’s life for a little while incredibly appealing on most days.

I don’t know about you, but my shelves are certainly lined with hundreds of books – some of them i’ve read and can’t bare to part with, and some I haven’t quite gotten around to reading, and yet I still find myself browsing the isles of bookstores. Fun fact about yours truly; I can dive into the most nail biting thriller there is and immediately turn around and fall into a teen drama (lols). If you’re a sucker for both murder mystery and young adult fiction, I’ve compiled the perfect cozy fall book list just for you!!  So grab a blanket, grab a cuppa and consider reading along with me!


The Turn of The Key – Ruth Ware

“When she stumbles across the ad, she’s looking for something else completely. But it seems like too good an opportunity to miss—a live-in nannying post, with a staggeringly generous salary. And when Rowan Caine arrives at Heatherbrae House, she is smitten—by the luxurious “smart” home fitted out with all modern conveniences, by the beautiful Scottish Highlands, and by this picture-perfect family.
What she doesn’t know is that she’s stepping into a nightmare—one that will end with a child dead and herself in prison awaiting trial for murder.”

 

 


 

The Woman in Cabin 10 – Ruth Ware

“Travel writer Lo Blacklock’s latest assignment is tantalizing: writing a story about the maiden voyage of the luxury cruise ship Aurora. As the voyage sets out, it is everything Lo could hope for. The ten cabins are plush and the guests are elegant. Soon though, frigid winds lash the deck while dark clouds conspire overhead. Then Lo is awakened to something out of a nightmare – a sickening place and a woman’s body disappearing beneath the waves. But the passengers and crew remain accounted for, and nobody admits to having seen this woman on board. Lo knows something has gone horribly wrong but who was the woman in cabin 10? And why will no one believe what Lo saw?”

 


The Arrangement – Robyn Harding

“Natalie, a young art student in New York City, is struggling to pay her bills when a friend makes a suggestion: Why not go online and find a sugar daddy—a wealthy, older man who will pay her for dates, and even give her a monthly allowance? Lots of girls do it, Nat learns.  Easy money, nice dinners – and sexual favours are optional. She finds the perfect candidate in Gabe. Although more than thirty years older, he’s handsome and rich, and she falls madly in love. But Gabe already has a family, whom he has no intention of leaving. What starts as a mutually beneficial arrangement devolves into a nightmare of deception, obsession, and, when a body is found near Gabe’s posh Manhattan apartment, murder.”

 

 


The Hunting Party – Lucy Foley

“For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.
All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.
During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.
They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.
Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.”


 


Wicked Like a Wildfire – Lana Popovic

“All the women in Iris and Malina’s family are born with a gleam – a unique way of manipulating beauty through magic. Seventeen year old Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscopic visions into glasswork; her twin sister, Malina, interprets moods as music, and their cold, distant mother, Jasmina, bakes scenery into decadent treats. Jasmina forbids Iris and Malina to share their gleams with anyone, and above all, she forbids them to fall in love. When a mysterious white-haired woman attacks their mother and leaves her hovering between life and death, the sisters unearth an ancient curse that haunts their line 0 a wicked bargain that masquerades as a blessing and binds the twins’ fates – and hearts – to a force larger than life. To save each other they must untangle a thousand years of lies and reveal their own hurtful secrets. But even the deepest sacrifice might not be enough. “


I Found You – Lisa Jewell

“In the windswept British seaside town of Ridinghouse Bay, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach. He has no name and no idea how he got there. Meanwhile, in a London suburb, newlywed Lily Monrose grows anxious when her husband fails to return home from work, but the police soon deliver even more disturbing news: the man she married never truly existed.
Twenty-three years earlier, Graysons and Kirsty Ross are teenagers on a. summer holiday with their parents. The annual trip to Ridinghouse Bay is uneventful, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable – and it’s not just because he’s a protective older brother. Who is the man on the beach? Where is Lily’s missing husband? And what ever happened to the man who made such a lasting impression on Gray?”

 


 

You Should Have Known – Jean Hanff Korelitz 

“Grace Reinhart Sachs is living the only life she ever wanted for herself, devoted to her husband, a pediatric oncologist at a major cancer hospital, their young son Henry, and the patients she sees in her therapy practice. Grace is also the author of You Should Have Known, a book in which she castigates women for not valuing their intuition and calls upon them to examine their first impressions of men for signs of serious trouble later on. But weeks before the book is published, a chasm opens in her own life: a violent death, a missing husband, and, in the place of a man Grace thought she knew, only a chain of terrible revelations. Left behind in the wake of a spreading and very public disast and horrified by the ways in which she has failed to heed her own advice, Grace must dismantle one life and create another for her child and herself.”

 

 


There are so many ways to get ready for fall, but cozying up with a good book is definitely one of my favs. What are you guys reading this season?? Will you be reading along with me, or do you have some favs of your own set aside? Let me know in the comments!

Sending cozy thoughts,

Share:
%d bloggers like this:

Looking for Something?